2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame: Darrelle Revis, DeMarcus Ware headline defensive-fueled class

Eight former players and one former coach will join the legends currently inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. This year the class consists of five modern day, three senior inductees, and one coach/participant inductee.

The 2023 Hall of Fame induction class was unveiled during the NFL Awards on Thursday night. Of the eight selected players, seven lined up defensively. Skill positions were not selected, a rarity in the Hall of Fame’s 60-year history.

** denotes first-year players eligible.

Modern conscripts

** CB Darrell Revis (2007-17): Revis Island has been anything but a vacation spot for NFL players throughout his 10-year career. The seven-time professional bowler has routinely blocked the league’s top wide receivers, making quarterbacks miserable. He helped New England through a 10-year Super Bowl drought in 2014 after leading the Jets to back-to-back AFC title games in 2009-10.

**PR Joe Thomas (2007-17): One of the greatest left tackles in NFL history, Thomas earned 10 consecutive Pro Bowl nominations while being named to the NFL All-Decade Team for the 2010s. The modern-day Iron Man of the NFL, Thomas played in 167 games and took 10,363 shots in a row.

LB Zach Thomas (1996-08): A tackling machine, Thomas won seven Pro Bowl nods and five All-Pros in nine years. In his 13-year career, he totaled 1,734 tackles, 20.5 sacks, 17 interceptions (four of which were returned for touchdowns), 16 forced fumbles, and eight fumble recoveries.

LB DeMarcus Ware (2005-16): Ware has hit 138.5 sacks in his 12-year career. A seven-time professional bowler with the Cowboys, Ware has earned two more Pro Bowl nods since joining the Broncos in 2014. Ware helped the Broncos win Super Bowl 50 before retiring the following season.

CB Ronde Barber (1997-12): A key member of the Buccaneers defense that won the 2002 championship. His sixth pick in that year’s NFC title game against the Eagles is arguably the greatest game in franchise history. A modern iron man, Barber played in a whopping 251 games in his 16-year career.

Senior conscripts

DL Joe Kleko (1977-88): The versatile linesman has earned Pro Bowl praise for his defense, defensive tackle, and nose tackle. He led the NFL with 20.5 sacks in 1981, being a valuable member of the Jets’ “New York Sack Exchange” defense.

LB Chuck Hawley (1958-73): The only Super Bowl MVP on the losing team, Hawley had two assists in Dallas’ 16-13 loss to the Colts in Super Bowl V. He had another steal in Super Bowl VI as the Cowboys defeated the Dolphins to win their first Super Bowl. Bowl. Hawley appeared in six Pro Bowl tournaments and was a five-time All-Pro.

CB Ken Riley (1970-83): Bengal’s career, Riley’s 65 career steals rank fifth in NFL history. In 1983, his final season, Riley threw eight passes, returning two league-leading touchdowns. Riley joins Anthony Munoz as the only Bengal kept in Canton, Ohio.

Guest trainer/participant

Don Coryell: Air Coryell’s offensive architect and pioneering coach helped modernize the passing game. Coryell led the Cardinals to three straight 10-win seasons and then led the Chargers to four straight playoff games. The Chargers offense remains one of the most prolific in league history, led by future Hall of Famers Dan Fouts, Kellen Winslow and Charlie Joyner.


Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker