Basketball Hall of Fame: Class of 2023 finalists, schedule and more

Next summer in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will feature a new class of legends. The full list of nominees from the North American and Women’s Committees was released in December. The finalists were announced Friday ahead of NBA All-Star Weekend in Salt Lake City, Utah, and the full class will be announced as part of the NCAA men’s basketball Final Four weekend in Houston.

The Class of 2023 will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday, August 12th. The new summer date reflects efforts to make the dedication weekend more accessible to fans and guests — a date change from recent celebrations that took place the week after Labor Day.

The dedication weekend kicks off at the Mohegan Sun in Connecticut on Friday, August 11 with an opening celebration and awards gala, including the launch of the Class of 2023 jacket and ring and the annual Hall of Fame Awards. The dedication ceremony will take place the next day at the historic Springfield Symphony Hall.

MORE: Inside the most secret Hall of Fame voting process in all sports

All-Star Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

The class of 2023 is “loaded” with star power as the finalists for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame were announced Friday as part of NBA All-Star Weekend. Dwyane Wade, Dirk Nowitzki, Pau Gasol and Gregg Popovich will lead the class, while inductees for the August ceremony in Springfield, Massachusetts will be announced as part of the NCAA Final Four celebrations in Houston in April. Read more here.

• Jennifer Azzi (player)

• Gene Bess (coach)

• Gary Blair (player)

• Pau Gasol (player)

• Becky Hammon: (player)

• David Hickson: (coach)

• Gene Keedy (coach)

• Dirk Nowitzki (player)

• Tony Parker (player)

• Gregg Popovich (coach)

• Dwyane Wade (player)

• Marian Washington (coach)

Class of 2023: North American Committee Nominees

  • Ken Anderson (coach)

  • John Beilein (coach)*

  • Jean Bess (coach)

  • Chauncey Billups (player)

  • Tom Chambers (player)

  • John Clougherty (judge)

  • Michael Cooper (player)

  • Joey Crawford (judge)

  • Jack Curran (coach)

  • Mark Eaton (player)

  • Cliff Ellis (coach)

  • Michael Finley (player)

  • Pau Gasol (player)*

  • Leonard Hamilton (coach)

  • Lou Henson (coach)

  • Ed Hightower (judge)

  • David Hickson (coach)

  • Mark Jackson (player)

  • Marquez Johnson (player)

  • Gene Keedy (coach)

  • Jim Larranaga (coach)*

  • Maurice Lucas (player)

  • Sean Marion (player)

  • Rolly Massimino (coach)

  • Dick Motta (coach)

  • Dirk Nowitzki (player)*

  • Jake O’Donnell (referee)

  • Tony Parker (player)*

  • Jim Phelan (coach)

  • Gregg Popovich (coach)*

  • Beau Ryan (coach)

  • Stan Spearow (coach)*

  • Reggie Theus (player)

  • Dwyane Wade (player)*

  • Buck Williams (player)

  • John Williamson (player)*

  • Paul Westhead (coach)

* Nominated for the first time

Class of 2023: Women’s Committee nominees

  • Leta Andrews (coach)

  • Jennifer Azzi (player)

  • Gary Blair (coach)

  • Doug Bruno (coach)*

  • Becky Hammon (player)

  • Becky Martin (coach)

  • Debbie Miller-Palmore (player)

  • Kim Mulkey (player)

  • Valerie Still (player)

  • Marian Washington (coach)

* Nominated for the first time

Direct Election Committee Finalists

International Committee

  • Jackie Chazalon

  • Mirza Delibashich

  • Dusan Ivkovic

  • Semyon Khalipsky

  • Vladimir Kondrashin

  • Edward Lamas

  • Marcos Leite

  • Shimon Mirrahi

  • Amory Steps

  • Manuel Sainz

  • Togo SoaresMore

  • Ranko Zeravica

Women’s Committee of Veterans

  • 1976 U.S. Olympic Team (team)*

  • Cheney University NCAA Final Four Team 982 (team)*

  • Allyn Banks Sprouse (player)

  • Edmonton Commercial Grads (team)

  • John Head (coach)

  • Yolanda Laney (player)*

  • Nashville College of Business (team)

  • Lometa Odom (player)

  • Harley Redin (coach)

  • Hazel Walker (player)

  • Valerie Walker (player)*

  • Dean Weese (coach)*

* Nominated for the first time

Participants Committee

  • Pete Babcock

  • Dick Baumgartner

  • Henry Bibby

  • Marty Blake

  • Vic Bubas

  • Doug Collins

  • Wayne Duke

  • Bill Foster

  • Bob Gibbons

  • Simon Gurdin

  • Team Gregory

  • Junius Kellogg

  • Johnny “Red” Kerr

  • Tom Konchalski

  • Bobby Lewis

  • Fred McCall

  • Jack McCloskey

  • John McGlocklin

  • Speedy Morris

  • Dennis Murphy

  • Curly Nile

  • Jack Powers

  • Will Robinson

  • Jin Shu

  • Jim Valvano

  • Donnie Walsh

Veterans Committee

  • 1936 U.S. Olympic team (team)

  • 1972 US Olympic team (team)

  • Dick Barnett (player)

  • Tom Blackburn (coach)

  • Sid Borgia (referee)

  • Charles Brown (player)*

  • Freddie Brown (player)*

  • Jack Coleman (player)

  • Charles Ekman (referee)

  • Leroy Edwards (player)

  • Leo Ferris (co-author)

  • Hy Gotkin (player)

  • Travis Grant (player)

  • Jack Hartman (coach)*

  • Cam Henderson (coach)

  • Robert Hopkins (player)

  • Charles Keenath (player)

  • Greg Kelser (player)*

  • Kentucky Wesleyan 1966, 1968, 1969 (Team)

  • Bob Love (player)

  • Loyola of Chicago (Team)

  • Billy Markward (co-author)

  • Ed McCluskey (coach)

  • Jack McKinney (co-writer)

  • Bill Melchionny (player)*

  • Francis Meehan (player)

  • Lucias Mitchell (coach)

  • Donald “Duday” Moore (coach)

  • Joe Mullany (coach)

  • Willie Naulls (player)

  • Junior University Northern Catholic High School (Philadelphia, PA) (team)

  • Don Otten (player)*

  • Philadelphia SFAS (team)

  • Kevin Porter (player)*

  • Glenn Roberts (player)

  • Lenny Rosenbluth (player)

  • Kenny Sailors (player)

  • Fred Schaus (co-author)

  • Sam Shulman (co-author)

  • Paul Silas (player)

  • Dick Van Arsdale (player)

  • Tom Van Arsdale (player)

  • Lambert Will (co-author)*

  • Max Zaslofsky (player)

* Nominated for the first time

Recent Hall of Fame classes

2022: Sonny Boswell, Swin Cash, Larry Costello, Hugh Evans, Manu Ginobili, Tim Hardaway, Del Harris, Lou Hudson, Bob Huggins, Inman Jackson, George Karl, Radivoj Korak, Albert Pullins, Teresa Shank-Grenz, Marianne Stanley , Lindsey Whalen

2021: Val Ackerman, Rick Adelman, Chris Bosh, Bob Dandridge, Lowell Fitzsimmons, Howard Garfinkel, Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson, Clarence Jenkins, Tony Kukok, Pearl Moore, Paul Pierce, Bill Russell, Ben Wallace, Chris Webber, Jay Wright

2020: Patrick Baumann, Kobe Bryant, Tamika Catchings, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Kim Mulkey, Barbara Stephens, Eddie Sutton, Rudy Tomjanovich

2019: Al Attles, Carl Brown, Charles “Chuck” Cooper, Vlade Divak, Bill Fitch, Bobby Jones, Sidney Moncrief, Jack Sikma, Tennessee A&I teams from 1957 to 1959, Wayland Baptist University teams from 1982 to 1984, Teresa​ Weatherspoon, Paul Westphal

2018: Ray Allen, Maurice Cheeks, Charles “Lefty” Driesell, Grant Hill, Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Tina Thompson, Dino Raja, Charlie Scott, Ora Mae Washington, Rod Thorne, Rick Welts, Cathy Smith

2017: Robert Hughes, Tracey McGrady, Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo, Muffet McGraw, Manny Jackson, Tom Jernstedt, Jerry Krause, Zach Clayton, Nick Galis, George McGinnis

2016: Zelmo Beaty, Darell Garretson, Allen Iverson, Tom Izzo, John McClendon, Yao Ming, Shaquille O’Neal, Cumberland Posey, Jerry Reinsdorf, Cheryl Swoops


Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker