Latest Posts

Bonds, Clemens, Palmeiro on Hall of Fame committee ballot Cleveland’s Chris Antonetti voted MLB Executive of the Year

- Advertisement -

COOPERSTOUN, New York. Steroid-tainted stars Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and Rafael Palmeiro are participating in an eight-member ballot for the Modern Baseball Era Hall of Fame committee meeting December 4 in San Diego.

Albert Belle, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Dale Murphy and Kurt Schilling are also on the ballot, announced Monday for a 16-member committee that considers candidates whose careers date back mostly to 1980. A candidate needs 75% of the vote to be elected, and anyone who does so will be inducted on July 23, along with anyone selected in the Baseball Writers Association of America vote announced on January 24.

- Advertisement -

Bonds, Clemens and Schilling all failed in their 10th and final appearance on the BBWAA ballot in January. Bonds received 260 of 394 votes (66%), Clemens 257 (65.2%) and Schilling 231 (58.6%).

- Advertisement -

Palmeiro was removed from the BBWAA ballot after receiving 25 votes (4.4%) in his fourth appearance in 2014, below the 5% minimum required to stay. Its maximum was 72 votes (12.6%) in 2012.

- Advertisement -

Bonds denied knowingly doping, while Clemens claims he never did dope. Palmeiro was suspended for 10 days in August 2005 after testing positive in a major league drug program just over two weeks after receiving his 3,000th hit.

A seven-time NL MVP, Bonds set a career high with 762 home runs and a season high with 73 in 2001. A seven-time Cy Young Award winner, Clemens went 354–184 with a 3.12 ERA and 4,672 strikeouts, finishing third behind Nolan. Ryan (5714) and Randy Johnson (4875). Palmeiro had 3,020 hits and 568 homers.

Schilling lost 16 votes, gaining 285 (71.1%) in 2021. Support plummeted after hateful remarks he made in retirement against Muslims, transgender people, reporters and others.

McGriff received 169 votes (39.8%) in his final year on the BBWAA ballot in 2019. Murphy appeared on the BBWAA ballot 15 times and received a maximum of 116 votes (23.2%) in 2000. Mattingly received a maximum of 145 votes (28.2%). %) in the first of 15 appearances on the BBWAA ballot in 2001, and Belle appeared on two BBWAA ballots, receiving 40 votes (7.7%) in 2006 and 19 (3.5%) in 2007.

Players on the Major League Baseball ineligible list cannot be considered, and this rule excludes Pete Rose.

Six people were elected by committees last December: Buck O’Neill and Bud Fowler by the early days committee, and Gil Hodges, Minnie Minoso, Tony Oliva and Jim Kaat by the golden days committee. They were inducted in July, along with David Ortiz, who was elected on the BBWAA ballot.

Hall restructured the veterans’ committee process last April for the third time in 12 years. In December 2023, there will be a modern era committee vote for managers, executives, and umpires, and in December 2024, a classic baseball era vote.

The vote was determined by the 11-member BBWAA Historic Review Committee: Bob Elliott (Canadian Baseball Network), Jim Henneman (formerly Baltimore Sun), Steve Herdt (Stats Perform), Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch), David O. Brien (The Athletic), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA), Jim Reeves (formerly Fort Worth Star-Telegram), Tracey Ringolsby (, Glenn Schwartz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle), Susan Slusser (San Francisco Chronicle) and Mark Wicker (Los Angeles newsgroup).

LAS VEGAS. Cleveland Guardians President of Baseball Operations Chris Antonetti was named Major League Baseball Executive of the Year after his young team won the AL Central with a $68 million salary and finished 27th out of 30 teams.

Cleveland went 92-70 using 17 players who made their major league debuts. The youngest team in the postseason, the Guardians lost a five-game series to the New York Yankees.

Antonetti, 47, has led Cleveland’s baseball operations as general manager from 2011 to 2015 and president of baseball operations since October 2015.

A 1996 Georgetown graduate with an MBA from Massachusetts, Antonetti began working for MLB as an intern at the Montreal Expos in 1997 and became assistant director of player development in November of that year. He joined Cleveland in 1999 and became assistant general manager three years later.

In a pre-postseason vote by major league clubs, Atlanta Braves president of baseball operations Alex Anthopoulos was second, and Seattle Mariners president of baseball operations Jerry Dipoto was third.

Oakland Executive Vice President of Baseball Operations Billy Beane received the initial award in 2018, followed in 2019 by Tampa Bay General Manager Eric Neander, President of Baseball Operations of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Andrew Friedman in 2020 and San Francisco Giants president of baseball operations Farhan Zaidi last year.

The award was announced on the first full day of the annual CEO meetings.


- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss