Dana White announces Power Slap league to air on TBS, clarifies rule set


In 2023, Dana White’s Power Slap League will have cable TV.

White revealed during a press conference in New York that an eight-episode contract for Power Slap has been signed to air on TBS starting in January. In October, the league received approval from the Nevada Athletic Commission for regulation. The UFC president will not be in charge of day-to-day operations, but said there will be the same medical testing as the UFC, along with drug testing for participants.

In addition, before the press conference, the media were provided with the rules of the league in the form of a glossary, which you can read below.

According to Power Slap website, the coin toss will decide whether the winner wants to throw or get the first slap. There will be 30 seconds for a slap, and another 30 seconds for recovery. The minimum number of rounds for each competition is three.

Victory will be determined by knockout, technical knockout or points, which, as in MMA and boxing, will be based on a 10-point system. The judges will determine the scoring based on the offensive player’s performance, as well as the defender’s reaction and recovery time. Matches may also be declared void, suspended or referred to referees for a technical decision if deemed necessary.

Striking infractions include batting, stepping, illegal launching, and delaying play. It was also revealed that the fighters would have to announce which hand they would use and how long it would take to slap. If the attacker deviates from the call, it will result in a penalty. Defenders will be fouled for flinching, blocking or delaying play.

Penalties for fouls include warnings, deductions, retakes, lost strikes, or disqualification.

Weight categories for men and women will be selected for participation in the competition.

Source: www.mmafighting.com