Latest Posts

Entry List Notebook – Chevrolet Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

- Advertisement -

The WeatherTech Championship returns to Canada for the first time since 2019

- Advertisement -

Mark Robinson

- Advertisement -

Record List (Click here)

- Advertisement -

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida – For the first time in three years, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship takes place north of the border at this weekend’s Chevrolet Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP).

Twenty-seven cars compete in four competing classes at the track in Bowmanville, Ontario. This is the eighth event on the 2022 schedule.

Here’s what you need to know about the race weekend:

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park – Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

July 1-3, 2022

Fast Facts

Race day/time: Sunday, July 3 – 3:05 pm ET

NBC network coverage: Live – from 15:00 to 18:00

Stream coverage: LIVE – Flag to Flag, starting at 3:00 PM on Peacock (in the US) and (outside the US). Qualifier Live: Saturday, July 2 – 12:35

Radio IMSA: Select live sessions on and; The SiriusXM race live stream starts Sunday, July 2 at 3:00 pm (XM 207, SiriusXM Web/App 992).

Chain type: 2,459 miles, road course with 10 turns

Competing classes: Daytona Prototype international (DPi), Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3), Grand Touring Daytona Pro (GTD PRO), Grand Touring Daytona (GTD)

Race length: 2 hours 40 minutes

Track Social Media:

Event hashtags: #IMSA, #ChevroletGrand Prix

WeatherTech championship records


DPi: Colin Brown, Nissan DPi, 1:05.452 / 135.250 mph, July 2019

LMP3: Top notch performance at CTMP

GTD PRO: a new class in 2022

GTD: Jack Hawksworth, Lexus RC F GT3, 1:15.546 / 117.124 mph, July 2018

2019 Chevrolet Grand Prix Winners

DPi: Oliver Jarvis/Tristan Nunes, #77 Mazda Team Joest Mazda DPi

LMP3: Top notch performance at CTMP

GTD PRO: a new class in 2022

GTD: Bill Auberlen/Robbie Foley, No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3


  • Oh Canada! It’s nice to see you again: The global pandemic and international travel restrictions have prevented the WeatherTech Championship from being held at CTMP for the past two years, so teams and riders are looking forward to returning. And the knowledgeable and passionate Canadian fans want to see racing again as well.
  • No rest after Glen: The Chevrolet Grand Prix is ​​the second half of the only consecutive race weekends on the 2022 calendar after Sunday’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen, which takes place right overseas in Watkins Glen, New York. courses for weeks on end to heighten anticipation and competition.
  • Battles for tense points: Three of the four classes raced this weekend are competing for points in the overall WeatherTech Championship, with all three competing in intense battles. With their win on Sunday at The Glen, Ricky Taylor, Philipe Albuquerque and Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05 No. 10 reclaimed the DPi class lead by 17 points ahead of Oliver Jarvis, Tom Blomkvist and No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian. Acura. No. 54 CORE Autosport drivers John Bennett and Colin Brown moved into LMP3, 50 points ahead of No. 30 Sean Creech Motorsport’s Ari Baloga and Garett Grist and 53 points ahead of No. 74’s Gar Robinson, Felipe Fraga and Riley Motorsports. Tackling: Matt Campbell, Mathieu Jaminé and Canada’s No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R are just 38 points ahead of No. 14 Ben Barnicott and Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3, and 41 points ahead of them. Antonio Garcia, Ricky Taylor and Corvette Racing Corvette C8.R GTD No. 3.
  • Results of the IMSA WeatherTech Sprint Cup: This week the GTD class competes only for points in the IMSA WeatherTech Sprint Cup of eight non-endurance races for the class. No. 1 BMW M4 GT3 Paul Miller Racing is well ahead of Turner Motorsport’s No. 96 BMW M4 GT3 with Bill Auberlen and Robbie Foley, but there are still four Sprint Cup races to go, with Auberlen and Foley being the protection class. 2019 winners.

Who is hot?

  • Acura Dynamic DPi Duo: Albuquerque, Ricky Taylor and Wayne Taylor Racing’s #10 Acura have won three of the last four races to take the lead. But don’t sell the No. 60 Acura Meyer Shank bare as it came in second in all four races.
  • CORE in LMP3: Bennett, Brown and the No. 54 Ligier JS P320 finished first and second in the last two LMP3 races to climb to the top of the class standings. With their stellar track record in CTMP, they should be considered the front-runners to extend that lead.

Who is good here?

  • ESSENCE OF THE MATTER: CORE autosport has six IMSA wins at CTMP. Bennett and Brown were drivers for four of them. They won the Prototype Challenge class in 2013, 15 and 16 and then the Prototype class and overall victory in 2018.
  • Corvette… but not recently: Corvette Racing took 11 CTMP class victories over a 14-year period (2001-14) leading every active team, but it’s been a dry spell since then. Garcia and Ricky Taylor hope to end the drought this weekend.

Previous 2022 Chevrolet Grand Prix winners (12)

Jonathan Bennett (4): PC – 2013, 2015, 2016; P – 2018

Colin Brown (4): PC – 2013, 2015, 2016; P – 2018

Bill Auberlen (2): GTLM – 2017; GTD – 2019

Richard Westbrook (2): GTLM – 2016, 2018

Earl Bamber (1): GTLM – 2019

Robbie Foley (1): GTD – 2019

Antonio Garcia (1): GTLM – 2014

Oliver Jarvis (1): DPi – 2019

Cooper McNeil (1): GTC – 2013

Olivier Pla (1): P – 2014

Jordan Taylor (1): P – 2015

Ricky Taylor (1): P – 2015

2022 Chevrolet Grand Prix Winners (5)

Colin Brown (3): PC – 2012, 2016; P – 2018; DPi – 2019

Ricky Taylor (2): P – 2015, 2017

Robbie Foley (1): GTD – 2019

Antonio Garcia (1): GTLM – 2016

Alex Riberas (1): GTD – 2016

Previous 2022 Chevrolet Grand Prix winning teams (9)

Corvette Racing (11): GTS – 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004; GT1 – 2005, 2007, 2008; GT2 – 2009; GT – 2011, 2013; GTLM – 2014

CORE autosport (6): PC – 2011, 2013; GTLM – 2015; PC – 2015 2016; P – 2018

Action Express Racing (2): P – 2016, 2017

Chip Ganassi Racing (2): GTLM – 2016, 2018

Riley Motorsports (2): GTD – 2014, 2018

Turner Motorsport (2): GTD-2016, 2019

BMW M Team RLL(1): GTLM-2017

PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (1): LMP2 – 2019

Wayne Taylor Racing (1): P – 2015

Previous 2022 Chevrolet Grand Prix winning manufacturers (7)

Porsche – 17

Chevrolet – 13

BMW – 4

Acura – 3

Aston Martin – 1

Cadillac – 1

Mercedes-AMG – 1


- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss