Latest Posts

Iowa State promotes Nate Scheelhaase to offensive coordinator Alabama’s Anderson repeats as Bronko Nagurski award winner FSU standout QB Jordan Travis returning for senior season

- Advertisement -

Ames, Iowa Nate Shilhaz was promoted from Iowa State receivers coach to offensive coordinator.

Shelhaase replaces Tom Manningwho was fired after the Cyclones finished last in the Big 12 in scoring and total offense in a 4–8 season.

- Advertisement -

“Nate Shilhaz is one of the rising stars in college football coaching circles and I look forward to seeing how he coordinates the Cyclone offense going forward,” the coach said. Matt Campbell said. “He is an outstanding recruiter who changes the lives of our student athletes every day.”

- Advertisement -

Campbell also announced the dismissal of fifth year offensive line coach Jeff Meyers.

- Advertisement -

Schelhaase coached the runners and receivers he arrived at Ames in 2018. Some of his best players have been finalists for the 2022 Biletnikoff Award. Xavier Hutchinsontwo-time consensus All-American running back Brice HallAll American running back David Montgomery and All-Big 12 Wide Angle Receiver Deshawnt Jones.

He previously coached running back in Illinois, where he was a starting quarterback for four years from 2010 to 2013.

The Cyclones’ offensive lineup will continue to have Shilhaase in charge of receivers, Joel Gordon as quarterback and passing game coordinator, and Taylor Mauser as time-end coach.

CHARLOTT, North Carolina – Alabama linebacker Will Anderson The younger became the second two-time winner of the Bronco Nagurski Award, awarded to the best student defender in the country.

Anderson received the award Monday night from the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

At 6’4″ and 243 pounds, Anderson had 10 sacks for the 5th-place Crimson Tide this season. He also won the award last year after recording 17 1/2 sacks.

Anderson, a junior, had two sacks in Alabama’s regular season finale victory against rival Auburn and threw his first touchdown when he returned a 25-yard interception against Louisiana-Monroe.

Anderson joins former Northwest midfielder Pat Fitzgerald as the only two-time recipient of the award. Fitzgerald won the award in 1995 and 1996 and later became the Northwestern’s head coach.

Whether Anderson will enter the NFL Draft or return to Alabama next season is unclear.

TALLAHASSEE, FL – Florida state quarterback. Jordan Travisthe fourth player in school history with 3,000 yards and 30 touchdowns in a single season remains at the school for his senior year.

Travis made the announcement on Monday, the same day that hundreds of players across the country logged into the NCAA transfer portal or announced their entry into the NFL Draft. Travis has chosen a different path and could be the favorite for next year’s Heisman Trophy.

“There are so many memories associated with this field and we’re not done yet,” Travis said in a video posted to social media. “See you in 2023.”

A fourth-year junior, Travis has 22 touchdown passes as well as seven rushing points, one reception and just four interceptions. He led the 13th-place (9-3) Seminoles to five straight wins as they prepare to play Oklahoma (6-6) at the December 29 Cheez-It Bowl in Orlando.

Travis joined three Heisman Trophy winners from the former Soviet Union – Charlie Ward in 1993, Chris Weinke in 2000 and Jamis Winston in 2013, 3,000 yards and 30 TDs per season. He is one of only six QBs in Power Five conferences with at least 20 TD passes and four or fewer interceptions.


- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss