JR Payne named candidate for Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year

The No. 21 Colorado Buffaloes women’s basketball team is poised to compete in the NCAA Tournament in what has been a good year for the Pac-12 Conference.

Buffs are back in the top 25 AP and might even host a March Madness game in Boulder. Colorado is 20-5 this year and plays Arizona State on Friday, and the Sun Devils have yet to win a Pac-12 game this year.

Thus head coach JR Payne was appointed end-of-season nominee for Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year.

The list included 15 coaches, as well as two other Pac-12 coaches: Lynn Roberts of Utah and Tara VanDerveer of Stanford.

Here are other candidates:

  • Geno Auriemma, UConn

  • Lisa Bluder, Iowa

  • Kenny Brooks, Virginia Tech

  • Denise Dillon, Villanova

  • Lisa Fortier, Gonzaga

  • Shona Green, Illinois

  • Nile Ivy, Our Lady

  • Add Lawson, Duke

  • Kevin McGuff, Ohio

  • Teri Moren, Indiana

  • Kim Mulkey, LSU

  • Don Staley, South Carolina

The Buffs have exceeded all expectations this year after finishing eighth in the Pac-12. With two weeks left in the regular season, Colorado is in third place and is in serious contention for the Pac-12 Tournament title.

Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year nominees will be reduced to 10 on March 8 and then reduced again to four on March 20. The winner will be announced during the Final Four on March 29th.

Contact us / Follow us @BuffaloesWire on Twitter and like our page on facebook to keep up with ongoing coverage of Colorado news, notes and opinions.


Blast 2025 DL Myron Charles Discusses Colorado Proposal

Transfers made a strong impression on the Buffs early on

Jaylene Sherrod named Pac-12 Player of the Week

The story originally appeared on the Buffaloes Wire channel.


Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker