Latest Posts

Mackenzie Hughes on early celebration: ‘I knew about a foot out’

- Advertisement -

Mackenzie Hughes knew the hit was good.

Everything else was blurry.

- Advertisement -

As Hughes’ winning shot in the second hole of the playoffs rolled into the bowl, the 31-year-old Canadian, who hasn’t lifted a PGA Tour trophy since winning his first trophy six years ago, balled his right hand into a fist and loaded the ball. . By the time the ball dropped to secure Hughes’ victory at the Sanderson Farms Championship on Sunday, he had already begun to use his fists.

- Advertisement -

“I don’t know about it,” Hughes later said of his early celebration. “I didn’t understand at what point I started celebrating, but I knew about a step ahead that everything was going right in the middle. It was like the best feeling in the world.”

- Advertisement -

The par-4 finish hole at Jackson’s Country Club used to be good for Hughes. In the rules, he landed a 105-foot 4-foot inward fairway kick to establish playoff parity.

Then, on the first extra ride on #18, Hughes came up and down from the bunker on the green, mothballing the 5-footer for a higher par.

Both shots taught Hughes good lessons.

“The kick itself was really straight,” Hughes said of his winner from about 7 feet, “and I was kind of lucky to basically have about 3.5 feet from left and then in the first playoff. the hole I had was 5 feet to the right of that. I felt like I was right in the middle of these two. In regulation, I felt like my shot was going a little right, the first playoff hole was a little to the left, and then this one was really straight.

“Again, I was lucky that I ended up in a place where I was comfortable reading. I felt like I was sure of what he was going to do and I played him right in the middle of the hole and he went right straight. It was pretty sweet.”

It was the same with the first lobe pump.




Source: www.golfchannel.com

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss