Latest Posts

Sunday Indianapolis Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather

- Advertisement -

With five races left in the regular season, the NASCAR Cup Series takes to the road at the historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

- Advertisement -

The Cup Series comes to Indy after a shocking weekend finale at Pocono Raceway where Denny Hamlin was the winner – as long as he and runner-up in the race Kyle Bush were disqualified. This gave Chase Elliott (who finished third in the race) the win. Joe Gibbs Racing, which exhibits Kyle Busch and Hamlin’s cars, has decided not to appeal DQ.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, as the series tries to turn the page, the playoff race continues. The last two spots in the 16-rider play-off remain open. Ryan Blaney (+105 for 17th place) and Martin Truex Jr. (+83) hold these places by points coming into Indy.

- Advertisement -

For other key post-Sunday storylines, check out our viewer guide.

Sunday Cup race details at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

(All times of the East)

START: Andrew Fusco, race sponsor Verizon’s crisis response manager, will give the command to start the engines at 2:52 pm… The green flag should go up at 3:03 pm.

PRERACE: The Cup Garage opens at 11:30… Drivers show at 2:00 pm… Casey Clark of Parkside Bible Church (Brownsburg, IN) will say a prayer at 2:44 pm… Lamar Campbell will play the national anthem at 2:45 pm.

DISTANCE: The race is 82 laps (199.998 miles) on a 14-turn 2.439-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on the 15th lap. Stage 2 ends on the 35th lap.

READ ALSO: Indianapolis Cup starting lineup

TV/RADIO: NBC will broadcast the race at 2:30 p.m. Countdown to green starts at 14:00. All broadcasts will be streamed live on Peacock Premium, including post-race coverage starting at 6:00 pm. Broadcasts of the PRN/IMS radio network start at 13:30 and will also be broadcast at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will host the radio broadcast.

FLOW: Peacock Premium

FORECAST: Weather Metro – Partly cloudy, high temperature 82 degrees, chance of rain at the beginning of the race – 6%.

LAST YEAR: Late race chaos led to AJ Allmendinger’s double win in overtime in the first race of the Indy Circuit Cup Series.


Roger Penske says ‘stay tuned’ on Joey Logano contract renewal

Champions Cup among those who follow Ty Gibbs

Dr. Diandra: Kevin Harvick – Recession or Swan Song?

William Byron thanks those who, after the fire of his team’s truck

Austin Sindrik looks forward to a cleaner race this year at Indy

Kurt Bush misses Indy; Ty Gibbs driving the No. 45 Cup again

Drivers to Watch for in the Cup Race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Michael McDowell, Team 34 to appeal against Pocono’s penalty


- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss