Latest Posts

Wimbledon 2022: Spain’s Fokina suffers wild loss on 5th-set tiebreak ball-abuse penalty

- Advertisement -

What a cruel way to leave.

- Advertisement -

Spaniard Alejandro Davidovich Fokina played five sets and on Wednesday at Wimbledon played a tie-break with the Czech Jiri Veseli. On a horse? Place in the third round of the Grand Slam.

- Advertisement -

Vesely secured a match point by taking a 9-7 lead in a tie-break when Fokina failed to get the ball back over the net. Fokina made up for his frustration by kicking another ball out of play at half-time. And that was the end of his tournament.

Penalty for ball abuse ends Fokina’s Wimbledon

- Advertisement -

Tower umpire Carlos Ramos fined Fokina for abusing the ball due to an out-of-class right hand. This penalty was his second violation of the code of the day. A second violation of the code results in an automatic penalty point awarded to the offender’s opponent. In this case, it was a match point, and Vesely got himself a ticket to the third round.

Here is the result of the match on video, including the last point earned by Vesela and Fokina’s foul (43 seconds), which ensured a 6-3, 5-7, 6-7 (2), 6-3, 7-6 (10-7) win.

According to the Associated Press, Fokina protested Ramos’ decision, arguing that his previous violation of the code was related to another violation – audible obscenity. But it doesn’t matter what the violations of the code are for. Two in total give the opponent a penalty point, and Ramos ruled by the letter of the law.

Alejandro Davidovich Fokina reacts during her match against Hubert Gurkacz on the first day of the 2022 Wimbledon Championships at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club, Wimbledon.  Photo date: Monday, June 27, 2022. (Photo by Stephen Paston/PA Images via Getty Images)
Alexander Davidovich Fokina at Wimbledon. (Stephen Paston/PA Images via Getty Images)

Ramos has a history of controversial code violations

If Ramos’ name sounds familiar, he is the judge at the center of the controversy at the 2018 US Open featuring Serena Williams. Ramos called Williams for three rule violations during her final against Naomi Osaka. The penalty prompted Williams to scold Ramos midway through the match en route to her loss to Osaka.

Williams accused Ramos of sexism while the referees contemplated a boycott of Williams’ matches due to her outburst. There was no such scene at Wimbledon on Wednesday. Just an amazing end to the tie-break in the fifth set.




Source: sports.yahoo.com

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss