Latest Posts

Xfinity Series drivers point to Nashville

- Advertisement -

NASCAR Xfinity Series drivers will begin their 12-race playoff run on June 25 at Nashville Superspeedway.

- Advertisement -

The 250 mile race in Nashville (3:30 p.m. ET, USA) features only seven drivers who have qualified for the Xfinity Playoffs, with five spots remaining vacant. The playoffs are scheduled to begin September 24 at Texas Motor Speedway (3:30 pm ET, USA).

- Advertisement -

The Xfinity series has been idle since June 4th when AJ Olmendinger won in Portland.

MORE: Playoff pattern score for Cup, Xfinity, Trucks

- Advertisement -

The other race winners this season (and almost certain to make the playoffs) are Ty Gibbs, Noah Gragson, Justin Algayer, Josh Berry, Brandon Jones as well as Austin Hill.

Three of these winners – Gragson, Allgayer and Berry – drive for JR Motorsports, and Sam Mayer, another JRM rider, takes first qualifying place (eighth) after seven race winners. 9th to 12th on this list are the current champions of the series. Daniel Hemrick, Landon Cassill, Riley Herbst as well as Ryan win.

Anthony Alfredo is the first driver outside the playoff line. He is 58 points behind Zig. Alfredo won pole in Portland. It will be his first time racing in Nashville.

Gibbs, the grandson of team owner Joe Gibbs, has become the series’ infamous star this season, with victories in Las Vegas, Atlanta and Richmond and three poles, although he hasn’t won in the last seven races.

Gibbs has been racing aggressively and has had incidents with several riders this year. The biggest of these occurred in April at Martinsville Speedway, when friction on the track on the last lap led to Gibbs and Sam Mayer fighting on pit road. Gibbs crashed into Mayer’s car on pit road (an action that later resulted in a $15,000 fine from NASCAR) and then collided with Mayer. After a brief discussion, Gibbs punched Mayer twice in the face before NASCAR officials and others intervened. Gibbs and Mayer fell to the ground before the incident was over.

Gibbs is second in series points behind Allmendinger. Gragson, Berry and Algayer are ranked third through fifth on the points list.

Among other notes of this season:

  • The driver with the most laps has won five of the 14 races this season.
  • Four races were decided by last lap passes. Gibbs has won twice (Atlanta and Richmond) and lost once (Martinsville).
  • Four races went into overtime. Only once the leader on the planned distance won the race. Cole Custer did it at Auto Club Speedway.

Xfinity racing returned to the Nashville circuit last year after a ten-year hiatus. Cup regular Kyle Busch won that race (his 100th win in the series) with Algaier second.

After Nashville, the series visits many circuits, including road courses at Road America, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and Watkins Glen International.

Remaining Xfinity Series regular season schedule:

Nashville, June 25 (3:30 p.m., USA)

Road America, July 2 (2:30 p.m., USA)

Atlanta, July 9 (17:00, USA)

New Hampshire, July 16 (2:30 p.m., USA)

Pocono, July 23 (5:00 p.m., USA)

Indianapolis Road Course July 30 (3:30 pm, NBC)

Michigan, August 19th. 6 (15:30, USA)

Watkins Glen, August 20 (3:00 p.m., USA)

Dayton, 19 August. 26 (19:30, USA)

Darlington, September 3 (15:00, USA)

Kansas, Sept. 10 (15:00, USA)

Bristol, September 16 (19:30, USA)


- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss